Author Archive | Robert Drake

Libraries Rock with myON Final Report

In 2018 the State Education Department partnered with myON to offer free access to thousands of enhanced digital books as part of Summer Reading at New York Libraries.  This partnership was focused on providing more Summer Reading resources to all children, students and families throughout the summer, while encouraging them to participate in summer reading and […]

Continue Reading

Healthy Meals during the Summer

Healthy meals are necessary for students to stay focused and energized while at school; many students living in low-income neighborhoods rely on school meals to keep them healthy and focused throughout the school day. But many of the students who rely on school meals have nowhere to turn over the summer when school is not […]

Continue Reading

Growing Summer Meals with Innovative Community Partnerships

Tuesday March 5, 2019 1:00 – 2:00 PM EST Register Here! Learn how schools and organizations in low-income communities may be eligible to offer free, nutritious meals and/or snacks through the Summer Food Service Program (SFSP), and how sponsors across New York State are growing participation through community partnerships. More than 1.1 million New York […]

Continue Reading

Planning a Night Sky Viewing at Your Library

February 20, 2019 at 2:00 p.m. MT – REGISTER HERE: A Night Sky Viewing is a great way to bring local science enthusiasts and library patrons together for an astronomy-based community event. Before your library launches a Night Sky Viewing or Star Party this year, there are a few things to know that can help […]

Continue Reading

Resource Overview for “A Universe of Stories”

Tuesday, December 18, 2018 at 4:00 p.m. (EDT), 3:00 p.m. (CDT), 2:00 p.m. (MDT), 1:00 p.m. (PDT) Looking for activities, websites, how-to videos, training, and more for the 2019 Summer Reading Theme? Join the STAR Library Network for an overview of vetted, free resources available through NASA, the STAR Library Network, and the STEM Activity […]

Continue Reading

Powered by WordPress. Designed by WooThemes